His Eye Is On the Sparrow

"Take no thought for the morrow"

My wife and I were talking about materialistic Christians last night. The ones who seem so desperately afraid of Biden’s armies of IRS agents taking all of their possessions, or of starving in a government-engineered famine, or of having their bunkers overrun by trans-gay zombies.

I’m not minimizing the potential negative outcomes we could still see in society in the coming months or years. I’m all for being fit and flexible and prepared to take whatever right action is required. And I understand, given the realistic threats posed by the psychos who seem to be running the show right now, the “prepper” impulse to have some food stored up and a few extra boxes of ammo.

But if you’re a Christian, you’ve probably been exposed to the Sermon on the Mount. Which is far from the only place in the New Testament where Jesus tells his followers not to be enslaved to material things but instead to live according to his example:

“Therefore I say unto you, Take no thought for your life, what ye shall eat, or what ye shall drink; nor yet for your body, what ye shall put on. Is not the life more than meat, and the body than raiment?

“Behold the fowls of the air: for they sow not, neither do they reap, nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feedeth them. Are ye not much better than they?

“[…] Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.” - Matthew 6:25-26; 34

Anyway, it got me thinking of the great version of this song on the album Shake That Thing! sung by Tuba Fats with the Preservation Hall Band. I put it on the speakers last night and figured it out on the guitar. And this morning it was still stuck in my head when I went out to the garden. The sun was shining, the bees were buzzing among the black-eyed Susans and bachelor buttons and…well, here you have it.

Hope you had a good day today and may you sleep deeply and well and wake up ready for whatever tomorrow brings,

DK

0 Comments
Exactly Where I'm At - DK Brainard
Exactly Where I'm At - DK Brainard
Authors
DK Brainard